the.best.thing.

Best Friend.

So I was sitting at Coffman Union today near Jamba Juice, wishing Ellen Degeneres was still on at 9am like it used to be so I could laugh out loud at all her funny jokes, and I heard some girl in front of me say, “yeah, well the best things in life never last very long”.  This statement resonated with me for a long time.  I have to say I heavily disagree.  And this is why.

8 years ago I met my best friend and to this day she still is one of the best things in my life.  It was Freshman year in high school when I decided to call her the night of Halloween.  I needed a trick or treating buddy.  Well good thing I made that call because from that night on it was history.  We literally spent every waking moment together. I basically lived at her house, especially on Fridays because that was pizza night at the Beley household.  The Beley family now had another daughter.  But that all changed the day she told me she was moving to South Carolina.  I will never forget that day we sat on the edge of her bed when she told me the horrible news.  I thought I was losing a friend but what I did not realize is that I was gaining more than I could ever fathom then.

Catherine is one of the most beautiful, genuine and confident people you will ever come into contact with.  She radiates happiness from every ounce of her body and literally brings out the best in everyone… especially me.  If there is one thing being friends with her has taught me it is to value people who demonstrate to me they value me as well. We both show each other everyday why we value each other’s friendship and that has made all the difference in why we have been able to keep this friendship going.  Afterall the truth of the matter is the best of friendships/relationships only work out if both sides put in the time and effort.

Keeping up a friendship with someone for 8 years who lives half way across the country from you can be a challenge.  We have been through many ups and downs but not enough to destroy our friendship.  Skype calls, trips to South Carolina, Wisconsin, Florida, texting, calling have always kept us in touch. Thank God for modern technology.  Let’s just say we both have come to value each other even more now than before.  We both have never given up on being best friends. She means more to me than I can really put into words.  Yes, its been 8 years, and here’s to 8 more and beyond.

This year, for the second year in a row, our spring breaks fall on the same week.  I think Catherine and I could both agree that God had something to do with that.  Woo!  Florida here we come.  I literally cannot wait another 2 weeks to see her.  I have a feeling that it is going to be one of the greatest weeks yet.  So Catherine, thanks for being the best ever.  I love you and that is no “bologna sausage with mustard and pickle relish frogbreath”

You are the best thing…ever.

Well as always, laugh often and stay on the sunnyside.

L

One thought on “the.best.thing.

  1. I fell outta touch with my best friends back home… I’m horrible. Maybe it’s time to bring it around. I like this blog!

Leave a Reply

